About the Faculty 

The Faculty of Social Sciences was established in 1967 and has since undergone rapid expansion and transformation. The faculty comprises the departments of Geography, Politics and Public Administration, Psychology, Social Work and Social Administration, and Sociology, and Journalism and Media Studies Centre. It also has six multidisciplinary research centres that provide a platform for research interaction and collaboration among colleagues on campus and further afield.

The Faculty offers six full-time first-degree programmes with a total enrolment of more than 1,500 students. The undergraduate programmes aim to provide a broad education and establish a foundation for lifelong learning. The faculty has made a major commitment to multidisciplinary education in the conviction that, as scholars, we increase the power brought to bear on a problem by combining ideas, methods and approaches from many disciplines. As educators, we have an obligation to prepare students to bring this approach to the problems they will face at the University and beyond, and to look naturally to problem-solving approaches at the intersection of different bodies of knowledge.

Degrees Offered
Title Abbreviation to be used in the application form Code Number of first-year places
Bachelor of Education and Bachelor of Social Sciences (Double Degree) BED&BSS 6195 6
Bachelor of Arts and Sciences BASc 6212 24
Bachelor of Social Sciences BSS 6717 179
Bachelor of Social Work BSW 6731 35
Bachelor of Social Sciences (Government and Laws) and Bachelor of Laws BSS(GL)&LLB 6810 50
Bachelor of Journalism BJ 6822 21