About the Faculty 

From a teaching department of three teachers and 40 students in 1969 to a faculty today with more than 2,300 students and 83 full-time academic staff from 17 jurisdictions, the Faculty of Law has been the training ground of many distinguished legal minds and generations of lawyers who have formed the backbone of the Rule of Law in Hong Kong.

The founding Bachelor of Laws (LLB) programme, together with the double degrees, are ranked among the top undergraduate curricula at HKU.  The Juris Doctor (JD) programme introduced in 2009, is highly competitive. Since 1989 the Master of Laws (LLM) programmes have offered specialist, cutting-edge law courses to meet the demands of a rapidly changing global environment. The Master of Common Law (MCL) programme has trained more than 350 Mainland Chinese judges and government officials in common law since 1997.  In recent years, the Faculty has partnered with some of the most eminent law schools in the world, including double-degree programmes with the University of British Columbia, the University of Pennsylvania, University College London, University of Zurich and Peking University; and research projects and joint conferences with University College London, University of Cambridge, the University of New South Wales and National University of Singapore.

The Faculty is committed to academic and professional excellence.  While the faculty has come a long way since its inception in 1969, it continues its efforts in international outreach, in strengthening ties with Mainland China, and in enhancing the quality of legal education with a view to training not just good lawyers but also leaders who have a passion to serve, wherever they are.

In 2012, the Faculty moved to the Centennial Campus, and has the privilege of a new home named after Dr Cheng Yu Tung. The building befits the importance of our independent legal system, which is the cornerstone of Hong Kong’s continued prosperity.

Degrees Offered
Title Abbreviation to be used in the application form Code Number of first-year places
Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Laws (Double Degree) BA&LLB 6078 20
Bachelor of Laws LLB 6406 98
Bachelor of Business Administration (Law) and Bachelor of Laws (Double Degree) BBA(Law)&LLB 6808 70
Bachelor of Social Sciences (Government & Laws) and Bachelor of Laws (Double Degree) BSS(GL)&LLB 6810 50

*Following the introduction of the Juris Doctor (JD) programme in 2009-2010, degree holders are not eligible for admission to the LLB programme and they are encouraged to apply for the JD programme instead.  More information on the JD programme is available at http://www.law.hku.hk/postgrad/jd/.